Still more readings

As it is usual with me, I read different books at the same time. Like 3 or 5… And today I figured out I’ve been reading more in two months that I’ve ever been able to read in the past 4 years! It certainly has to do with not having time for it before. Now that I have a bit of time, and no study to make me crazy with all sorts of stuff, I can read almost anything, anywhere.

So here another small list, with some pictures, if I’m lucky enough (translation: if I manage to work out the upload URL pictures):

  • Urban Shaman, by C.E. Murphy. It’s about a lady who finds out, during a near-death experience, she can heal: herself, people, and probably the world. Nicely written, fast but not too much, it’s a good read for before going to bed.
  • Memories of my Melancholy Whores, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. In his free and sometimes almost absurd narrative, Gabriel Garcia Marquez is always surprising in his choice of themes and the way he uses them.
    In this new book, the memoirs of a ninety year old man, he makes an evaluation of the choices we maken in our youth and through the years. Choices that unwillingly return to haunt us at some point. That no deed goes unpunished, even the smallest ones. But the most important of all: that life is to be lived to the fullest and anything that differs from that is a waste of time and energy.
    Wonderful book. Read for work, so I would write a small comment on it (just did!) to be published on the website of The Hague OnLine. I still need to find the right website, sorry about that…
  • I’m still reading O Alquimista (badly written in Portuguese, but it seems the translation is pretty good), A asa esquerda do anjo and the newspaper in the train… 😉
This entry was posted in Books, Lists. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still more readings

  1. Sophie says:

    have you read anything else by gabriel garcia marquez? one hundred years of solitude is still amongst my favourite books ever!

  2. Lília Visser says:

    Haven’t read that one, but it’s definetely on my list of to read in the immediate future.

Leave a Reply

